Amazon provides you a digital copy

If you haven’t checked your Amazon account in a while, you really should make your way there and to their Cloud Player. Every physical album you’ve purchased since 1998 will automatically be uploaded to your personal Amazon Cloud Player, so long as Amazon currently has the digital rights to the albums. This means that you have a free digital copy stored online that you can listen to and download at any time. Great move!

This is honestly something of which I would like to see more. The current climate of physical or digital doesn’t make sense to me. Every item that you purchase physically should automatically grant you access to a digital copy, especially if it is an item that is so easily copied anyway. This would be a great value for consumers, especially those who are collectors. Not to mention the fact that, while digital sales haven’t overtaken physical sales in all mediums, this could help to keep jobs in production factories. Digital-only should remain an option, but I don’t see the point.

Imagine a world in which you still get the tactile pleasure of flipping through pages of the latest novel or comic, popping open your new DVD/Blu-ray or video game, or inserting your latest CD into a player with full knowledge that should anything happen to them they are backed-up. Or that they are accessible to you while not physically in your presence. The future isn’t simply the digital revolution brought through MP3 players, e-readers, and streamed video. The future consists of options and access for media for which you paid.

About Gospel X

I am a major mediaphile as well as a social researcher. My ultimate belief is that the media can be used to teach children prosocial behaviors and teach adults how to access paradigms. And I think that Mega Man is an amazing example of proteanism. Add me on Google : https://plus.google.com/u/0/113795848855477334599

Posted on January 10, 2013, in culture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Along the same lines, I really enjoy what Marvel Comics are doing. I purchase physical copies of comics falling under the ‘Marvel Now’ banner and inside the comic there is a page that gives you a code that provides you with a digital version of the same comic. This is appealing to me because I purchased Spider-Man 700 and I may choose to store that either for a future child or sell to collectors. I can still ‘read’ the comic digitally without having to worry about damaging the physical copy I own.

    • I really appreciate that about Marvel as well, although I wish it were more widespread with their books. The bigger titles include a free digital version, but I don’t think I have that option with X-Factor and Avengers Arena quite yet. I hope that it becomes a regular practice.

      My only qualm (since I appear to be full of qualms with things…) is that you’re given access to them digitally, not given a file that you keep on your computer and can transfer to devices. It took a while before Apple started offering their files in anything beyond proprietary format, so I’m wondering how long it will take before the comic companies move to a more accessible, generic form.

  2. That’s a fair complaint. I actually don’t mind because I have the Marvel Comics app on multiple devices (smartphone & tablet) which gives me the ability to pin the comics to the device for offline consumption.

Leave a Reply

