Buffy pushes boundaries

It’s starting to seem like Joss Whedon and company are going for shock value with the Buffy the Vampire Slayer comics. Last year they revealed that the big villain of Season Eight was Angel, somewhat possessed by an entity humorously called Twilight. Or not. It’s still kind of unclear, and it’s not at all clear how it fits into the Angel: After the Fall comic. Then there was flying super sex between Buffy and Angel. Then there was the head turning death of Giles. Ultimately we came unto the end of all magic.

Season Nine has barely started and we’ve already seen Willow ditch Buffy at the first opportunity to rediscover magic, followed by Buffy’s realization that she’s pregnant. The list of potential fathers is incredibly long considering she can’t remember her housewarming party from a few issues previous. Now in issue 6 we get hit with this whammy:

They’re not going to go through with it. No mainstream comic has the gall to go through with something so taboo. Something is going to happen to stop it, or she is simply going to change her mind. After all, it is probably a magical pregnancy, and Angel‘s fourth season shows how that can go.

But I just don’t think Whedon will do it. This strikes me as nothing but attention-seeking. It’s clearly working since I’m writing about it, but I’m mostly setting this in writing so I can call back to it in disappointment. I want Whedon and company to prove me wrong, though. How far are they willing to go?

About Gospel X

I am a major mediaphile as well as a social researcher. My ultimate belief is that the media can be used to teach children prosocial behaviors and teach adults how to access paradigms. And I think that Mega Man is an amazing example of proteanism. Add me on Google : https://plus.google.com/u/0/113795848855477334599

Posted on February 9, 2012, in Buffy, comics, fantasy, taboo, urban fantasy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I don’t know, man, _Invincible_ has become pretty mainstream as far as comic books go and Atom Eve had an abortion (such a powerful and shocking scene, too), so I wouldn’t be surprised if they went through with it.

    • You do have a point there. Image Comics is definitely mainstream, but I guess what I should have emphasized is visibility. Few titles at Darkhorse Comics get as much mainstream notice as Buffy has in the past couple of years. I’m of course mentioning the whole “Buffy is a lesbian!!!!111” even that happened a couple of years back that also had little substance. (She was in a vulnerable position and basically reaching for people for whatever reason. There’s been little mention of it since, though.) Most of the shocks in the past season of Buffy have resulted in little fallout and just seem to be there to generate media impressions. This seems no difference. Then there’s Invincible, which I admit I’m not nearly as familiar with, but no one outside of comic aficionados acknowledge it. It can get away with so much more.

  1. Pingback: Buffy and attention whoring « Our Multimedia Culture

Leave a Reply

