Red Robin #26

I have to say that DC Comics is full of writers who don’t really know what they’re doing, which is why they remain the number two comic book company. Sure, the Batman movie franchise basically prints money, but what about everything else? The 52 initiative will have to be absolutely stunning considering some of the more recent output.

I’m finally returning to Red Robin, a book that got my blog numerous hits. Not as many as searches for the ending of the Adjustment Bureau, but the searches got me quite a number of hits nonetheless. I haven’t been commenting on the book because aside from Red Robin’s darkened attitude, the book became crap. Tim helped bring Bruce Wayne back, rekindled his friendship with Superboy and learned to smile again. Those are great stories but told terribly. Then there was the plot about saving the life of his nemesis and entering the guy’s comatose mind into a virtual world that only existed as a playground for villains. The stories got increasingly ridiculous from there. I have to admit that I am quite accepting of the book’s having to come to screeching halt…even if it is for the 52 relaunch.

The final issue of Red Robin involved the titular character’s drawing Captain Boomerang out in order to get revenge on him. The whole book is about Tim’s struggle with his inner rage against his father’s killer. In the end he restrains himself and merely gets Boomerang arrested. Dick, as Batman, says he did a good job. Bruce, also as Batman, says he worries about the kid. The end features Tim’s thoughts on becoming so much darker in order to protect his city.

And through the whole thing I just couldn’t buy it. Captain Boomerang did indeed kill Tim’s father in Identity Crisis, but it was the other Captain Boomerang. The dead Captain Boomerang. The Captain Boomerang who was simultaneously shot by Tim’s father during his murder. Getting revenge on the son of the killer is…well, stupid. It doesn’t make any sense. It’s like the writers decided they didn’t care anymore.

That’s the corner into which DC has painted themselves with 52. Every book had to be forced toward an end. This results in crappy writing, and crappy writing should result in lost readership. Who wants to read any of the 52 comics when DC writers are telling us how easily they give up?

About Gospel X

I am a major mediaphile as well as a social researcher. My ultimate belief is that the media can be used to teach children prosocial behaviors and teach adults how to access paradigms. And I think that Mega Man is an amazing example of proteanism. Add me on Google : https://plus.google.com/u/0/113795848855477334599

Posted on August 27, 2011, in comics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. My rational side hears you loud and clear.

    My inner fangirl doesn’t care, and will go back to geeking out over Tim Drake now.

  2. IFor me t was the best book of the bat family and I enjoy It, I think people dont really care about the New 52 crap, they stop caring long time ago, maybe during infinite crisis or identity crisis.

    The ones that still like the ridicoulous comics (Whats bad about wanting to erradicate art from comics? art is the enemy of the people) have to put up with the stupid corporative moves of Didio.

    Im a little puzled about why people complain about DC if they dont like It, But when it comes to this issue is clear that is just something that was cuted out, It was “almost” a great story. But when rushed out, well I was said that was going to take advantage from brightest day but It didnt work out. Red Robin should have ended with #25

  3. You should know that it wasn’t his son that Drake went after. It was the original Captain Boomerang, that was brought back.

    Obviously it’s irrellevant now but I thought I should comment, since I just read this tpb.

    • Good catch. I didn’t realize that he was resurrected (and I think his son stayed dead?). It’s so hard to keep up with minor characters in such an expansive universe…

Leave a Reply

