Ultimate Fallout

“The Death of Spider-Man” storyline clearly irked me. This Ultimate Fallout book subtitled “Spider-Man No More” seems to be a clearly indulgent cash grab. Six issues of mourning for the alternate version of Marvel’s most celebrated character. I don’t need to mention again that Spider-Man is my favorite superhero, nor do I need to mention that I absolutely loved the Ultimate version up until the ultimatum wave hit. (Yeah, it was a weird thing that happened. Magneto reversed the magnetic poles of the Earth.) I’m definitely going to read about the funeral for this character, especially as it seems that despite the crap he received as a superhero, almost all of New York seems to be attending his funeral. It’s touching.

It really is emotional stuff. I’ve read that pathos is the cheapest way to get audiences involved in a story. Well, they got me hook, line, and sinker. All it took was a little girl with burn marks doing what little kids do. First she asks Aunt May if she was Spider-Man’s mommy. May responded that she was just his aunt, but the kid correctly inferred that she made him breakfast like a mommy. Then she tops all of this off with, “When I was little, Spider-Man saved me from a fire so I didn’t die.” The following happened:

click for larger image

I teared up. Marvel got me.

There were other good moments in the book, like Kitty Pryde dealing with the loss aggressively and Mary Jane telling Nick Fury himself that she holds him responsible. The latter was made perfect by a panel focusing in on Fury’s reaction, as he had nothing but respect for Peter Parker and wanted to make sure he was always protected. (This also hurt because many issues prior to this, Mary Jane said that Peter looks up to Fury as his own personal hero – and somewhat like a father figure.) I’d love to knock the book because it’s an obviously a cash-in and not focused on telling a great original story, but the book was actually good.

But it’s only issue one of six…

About Gospel X

I am a major mediaphile as well as a social researcher. My ultimate belief is that the media can be used to teach children prosocial behaviors and teach adults how to access paradigms. And I think that Mega Man is an amazing example of proteanism. Add me on Google : https://plus.google.com/u/0/113795848855477334599

Posted on July 18, 2011, in comics, Marvel, review, Spider-Man, Spider-Man and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Up until Ultimatum the Daily Bugle made him out to be a villian at worst and a menace at best. After viewing him actually saving people and supposedly dying during the event J. Jonah Jameson changed his views and I can only assume so did the slant of the paper. I would like to dismiss it as fictional that one paper could hold that much sway on a population that clearly has access to multiple papers, but given what’s come out recently in England (London in particular) in exposing the clout of Rupert Murdoch’s clout, I guess it is possible to have an entire city turn out for a funeral.

    • It wasn’t simply the Ultimatum event that changed JJ’s mind. He and Spider-Man/Peter Parker were kidnapped by the Chameleon, and JJ discovered the whole truth. Even setup a college fund for the kid.

  2. Well that I did not know.

Leave a Reply

