Hanna

"Adapt or die" sounds like the tagline Enix should have proposed for E.V.O.: Search for Eden

I just got back from seeing Hanna, and the movie definitely ranks up there with the good movies that have come out this year. Good but not great. In the end, there wasn’t enough material there to make me think I saw a full movie. It was kind of empty.

Then it hit me. Hanna herself, having grown up in the forest without any real social interaction or anything beyond a rote understanding of life, was a blank slate. There wasn’t much there to differentiate her from any of the classic video game avatars. She went through several levels before she reached the end: the facility, the desert, the city, and finally the amusement park. While she did not encounter battles every step of the way, she did gain experience. In the end, she beat the big bad. Game over. Credits. Insert more money to play again.

It is amusing to see this movie compared to Sucker Punch in various reviews. While Sucker Punch looked like a video game, Hanna played like one. Critics say that Hanna is the superior film, but I have to tip my hat to Sucker Punch because I find difficulty enjoying video games that don’t allow me to actually play them.

About Gospel X

I am a major mediaphile as well as a social researcher. My ultimate belief is that the media can be used to teach children prosocial behaviors and teach adults how to access paradigms. And I think that Mega Man is an amazing example of proteanism. Add me on Google : https://plus.google.com/u/0/113795848855477334599

Posted on April 9, 2011, in Bechdel failure, movies, review, science fiction, speculative and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

