Ebert on 3-D

I generally do not like Ebert. I have seen reviews that were too critical of the lowbrow and others that were too light on those that considered themselves highbrow. Some reviews have revealed that he is not as observant as he should be. Then there is his whole argument about video games not being art, which basically sums up to, “I know art when I see art. I don’t play games, so I don’t see art there. Since I haven’t seen it, games cannot be art.” (Check out this blog post or the other blog post he has written on the subject. I am not inaccurate here.) Ebert does not sit well with me.

What makes me dislike him more is when I do agree with him. It just does not seem right. However, he made some great points about 3-D. I see 3-D as just another marketing gimmick, and Ebert seems to agree and then some. Check out his latest in Newsweek: http://www.newsweek.com/id/237110

About Gospel X

I am a major mediaphile as well as a social researcher. My ultimate belief is that the media can be used to teach children prosocial behaviors and teach adults how to access paradigms. And I think that Mega Man is an amazing example of proteanism. Add me on Google : https://plus.google.com/u/0/113795848855477334599

Posted on May 13, 2010, in business, movies, technology. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

