Why I hate online gaming…

This is the ranking screen from Mega Man 10. My score does not read 5 days, 2 hours, and 3 minutes. No, that is 5 hours, 2 minutes, and 3 seconds. That means that the top scorer completed the game in 52 seconds – an impossible feat. I wonder what people get out of cheating at games like this. Is there a sense of accomplishment I am not understanding?

For the record, I am not crying foul due to my game time. Mine is not suitable for submission. If I were to play again with the goal being reduction of overall time (and, of course, bragging rights), I would definitely stop myself and ask why I should bother. The number 7 score, by Purrfect:3, is the only one that looks realistic – and that barely broke top 10!

About Gospel X

I am a major mediaphile as well as a social researcher. My ultimate belief is that the media can be used to teach children prosocial behaviors and teach adults how to access paradigms. And I think that Mega Man is an amazing example of proteanism. Add me on Google : https://plus.google.com/u/0/113795848855477334599

Posted on March 10, 2010, in Mega Man, video games, Wii. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

