On cultural brainwashing, buying American, and alternatives

I received this in an e-mail from my mother the other day:

My grandson likes Hershey’s candy.  It is marked made in Mexico now. So I do not buy it any more.  My favorite toothpaste Colgate is made in Mexico now. I have switched to Crest.  You have to read the labels on everything.
This past weekend I was at Kroger. I needed 60W light bulbs and Bounce dryer sheets. I was in the light bulb aisle and right next to the GE brand I normally buy was an off brand labeled, "Everyday Value."  I picked up both types of bulbs and compared the stats – they were the same except for the price. The GE bulbs were more money than the Everyday Value brand but the thing that surprised me the most was the fact that GE was made in MEXICO and the Everyday Value brand was made in – get ready for this – the USA in a company in Cleveland , Ohio .
So throw out the myth that you cannot find products you use every day that are made right here.
So on to another aisle – Bounce Dryer Sheets….yep, you guessed it, Bounce cost more money and is made in Canada . The Everyday Value brand was less money and MADE IN THE USA! I did laundry yesterday and the dryer sheets performed just like the Bounce Free I have been using for years and at almost half the price!
So my challenge to you is to start reading the labels when you shop for everyday things and see what you can find that is made in the USA – the job you save may be your own or your neighbors!
If you accept the challenge, pass this on to others in your address book so we can all start buying American, one light bulb at a time! Stop buying from China ……….
(We should have awakened a decade ago……)
Let’s get with the program…. help our fellow Americans keep their jobs and create more jobs here in the U.S.A.

It is misleading for people to constantly say it is difficult to buy items made in the US. It isn’t. We all know how to read labels, and we are well aware of most products. The issue is the brand name programming that occurs. Hershey’s and Crest have several decades of commercials behind them promoting their products and names into the cultural conscience. They’ve been there forever, so they must be the best! Now they use their name recognition to bolster their sales, maximizing profit along the way by reducing costs (people in Mexico will work for less) and increasing price (why should I pay an extra dollar or two for dryer sheets?).

It really comes down to preference. I like to suggest buying American items, but sometimes you just outright prefer something else. Do you know how many items I own whose ultimate origins are Japanese? It doesn’t work if I tell someone to buy American. Not to mention that price really does factor into things. People scoff if I suggest Mobil/Exxon over BP. They’re not being unreasonable.

Buy American? Sure. However, it’s even more reasonable to just buy smart. Remember that the store brands aren’t that much different, so save a buck and support your country. There are also items, like chocolate, that you could learn to make yourself without supporting companies who have forgotten the American workers. It certainly is more convenient to scoop these things up at the store, but it’s more rewarding to make your own.

About Gospel X

I am a major mediaphile as well as a social researcher. My ultimate belief is that the media can be used to teach children prosocial behaviors and teach adults how to access paradigms. And I think that Mega Man is an amazing example of proteanism. Add me on Google : https://plus.google.com/u/0/113795848855477334599

Posted on June 4, 2009, in culture, real life. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

